"A 14-day isolation is mandatory for foreign arrivals from outside the European Economic Area, the Swiss Confederation (and) the United Kingdom," the document reads.

The move comes after an outbreak at Hegelmann Transporte, a Kaunas transport company where 19 coronavirus cases, mostly drivers from Uzbekistan, have been reported as of Friday.

The resolution also requires foreign travelers to register with the National Public Health Centre (NPHC) within 24 hours on their arrival in Lithuania.

Also, foreign nationals from countries on Lithuania's list of COVID-19 affected countries must contact the 1808 coronavirus hotline or other establishment performing tests within 24 hours to get tested for the virus.

A total of 63 countries, including Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bulgaria, Israel, the US, Kazakhstan, Moldova, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Serbia and Ukraine, are currently on the list which is regularly updated by the health ministry.

"Isolation premises for foreign nationals (and) their transportation to isolation premises and to COVID-19 testing sites must be provided and paid for by their employers, inviting persons or foreigners themselves," according to the resolution.

Veryga told reporters on Wednesday that employers would have not only to cover the costs of isolating workers from third countries, but also to pay for their testing.

"We aren't going to fund anything – either testing or isolation. This is up to businesses or people who arrive," he said.

Foreign nationals employed by "Lithuanian companies engaged in international commercial transportation" or carrying out "international commercial transportation by all the means of transport" must isolate on arrival and remain in isolation until their departure, but no longer than 14 days.

If they enter Lithuania for a stay of less than 72 hours, however, they are not subject to the mandatory testing requirement.

It is prohibited to copy and republish the text of this publication without a written permission from UAB „BNS“.
Comment Show discussion