The amendments to the law were initiated by Raimundas Lopata, chairman of the parliamentary Committee for the Future, and registered by 15 MPs.

The parliamentarians suggest adding the Armenian Apostolic Church, which they say is one of the oldest religious communities in Lithuania, to the current list of nine state-recognized traditional religious organizations.

"The history of the professing the Armenian Apostolic Church religion in Lithuania dates back to the second half of the 14th century, which means that those professing the faith have been living and practicing their religion in Lithuania longer than members of some of the religious communities and associations recognized as traditional," the authors of the amendments say in the explanatory note.

They note that Lithuania has had a stable Armenian diaspora for years.

Last year's national census showed that Lithuania was home to 1,125 Armenians.

The nine state-recognized religious communities and associations are Roman Catholic, Greek Catholic, Evangelical Lutheran, Evangelical Reformed, Russian Orthodox, Old Believer, Judaist, Sunni Muslim, and Karaite.

It is prohibited to copy and republish the text of this publication without a written permission from UAB „BNS“.
Comment Show discussion